Please Note: This article is written for users of the following Microsoft Excel versions: 97, 2000, 2002, and 2003. If you are using a later version (Excel 2007 or later), this tip may not work for you. For a version of this tip written specifically for later versions of Excel, click here: Turning Off Track Changes without Unsharing.

Turning Off Track Changes without Unsharing

by Allen Wyatt
(last updated October 7, 2015)

1

Excel allows you to track changes made to a workbook, as described in other issues of ExcelTips. When you turn on change tracking, Excel requires that you share the workbook. After all, change tracking is meant to be used in an environment where multiple users access and change the same workbook.

At some time you may want to turn track changes off, so that they are no longer noted in the workbook. If you turn it off, Excel assumes you also want to stop sharing the workbook, so it automatically turns off sharing. If you want to still continue sharing—without tracking—then you may wonder what your options are.

Unfortunately, Excel is rather confusing when it comes to sharing a workbook and tracking changes. The two features are intimately related to each other.

  • If you start with a brand new workbook, and then choose to share it (Tools | Share Workbook), Excel allows others to access and modify the workbook. However, track changes is not on at this point.
  • If you start with a brand new workbook, and then choose to track changes (Tools | Track Changes | Highlight Changes), Excel automatically shares the workbook and turns on change tracking.
  • If you start with a shared workbook and choose Tools | Track Changes | Highlight Changes, the Track Changes While Editing check box is selected. This may make you think that just because the workbook is shared, that track changes is also turned on; it isn't. (You can verify this because changes are not marked in the workbook.) If you click OK in the dialog box, then it will be enabled. If you click Cancel, then it won't be enabled. If you clear the Track Changes While Editing check box and click OK, then Excel unshares the workbook, as well.
  • If you start with a workbook that has track changes turned on and choose Tools | Track Changes | Highlight Changes, the Track Changes While Editing check box is selected, as it should be. Clearing the check box and clicking OK causes Excel to unshare the workbook.
  • If you start with a workbook that has track changes turned on and choose Tools | Share Workbook, then the Allow Changes by More than One User At the Same Time check box is selected. (Remember—if track changes is on, then the workbook is automatically shared.) If you clear the check box and click OK, then sharing is turned off and the track changes feature is turned off.

Is it any wonder that all this is confusing? The simplest way to turn off track changes and still have a workbook shared is to turn off track changes, then save the workbook. This saves it in single-user mode. You can then share the workbook and again save it. Four simple steps (turn off tracking, save workbook, share workbook, and save workbook) and you are exactly where you want to be. Remember, however, that if you choose Tools | Track Changes | Highlight Changes, it will appear that track changes is still turned on. Ignore the check box and click Cancel; it is not turned on at this point.

The only way to achieve the desired outcome faster is to use a macro. The following macro automates the steps just discussed:

Sub KeepShared()
    Dim sFile As String
    Dim sMsg As String
    Dim iUsers As Integer
    Dim iAnswer As Integer

    With ActiveWorkbook
        If .MultiUserEditing Then
            sFile = .Name
            iAnswer = vbYes
            iUsers = UBound(.UserStatus)
            If iUsers > 1 Then
                sMsg = sFile & " is also open by " & _
                    iUsers - 1 & " other users:"
                For x = 2 To iUsers
                    sMsg = sMsg & vbCrLf & .UserStatus(x, 1)
                Next
                sMsg = sMsg & vbCrLf & vbCrLf & "Proceed?"
                iAnswer = MsgBox(sMsg, vbYesNo)
            End If

            If iAnswer = vbYes Then
                .ExclusiveAccess
                .SaveAs Filename:=sFile, AccessMode:=xlShared
            End If
        End If
    End With
End Sub

The macro starts by checking the .MultiUserEditing property to make sure that the workbook is shared. If it is, then the macro checks to see if the workbook is being used by multiple people at the present time. If it is, then you are prompted whether you want to continue. If you do (or if there are not multiple users with the workbook open at the current time), then the workbook is set for exclusive access (single user) and then saved in shared mode. Setting the workbook for exclusive access turns off the track changes feature, as well.

ExcelTips is your source for cost-effective Microsoft Excel training. This tip (2511) applies to Microsoft Excel 97, 2000, 2002, and 2003. You can find a version of this tip for the ribbon interface of Excel (Excel 2007 and later) here: Turning Off Track Changes without Unsharing.

Author Bio

Allen Wyatt

With more than 50 non-fiction books and numerous magazine articles to his credit, Allen Wyatt is an internationally recognized author. He  is president of Sharon Parq Associates, a computer and publishing services company. ...

MORE FROM ALLEN

Cropping Pictures

Excel allows you to easily add graphics to a worksheet. If you want to crop an image you previously added, here's how to do ...

Discover More

Consolidating Changes under a Single User

When using Track Changes, you may want to have your edits appear to be those of a different user. Here's how to fool Word ...

Discover More

Determining the Month of the Year

Your macro code may need to determine the month of the year represented by a particular date. You can find the desired ...

Discover More

Solve Real Business Problems Master business modeling and analysis techniques with Excel and transform data into bottom-line results. This hands-on, scenario-focused guide shows you how to use the latest Excel tools to integrate data from multiple tables. Check out Microsoft Excel 2013 Data Analysis and Business Modeling today!

MORE EXCELTIPS (MENU)

Undoing Smart Tag Exclusions

Depending on who you ask, Smart Tags can be really cool or really distracting. If you fall on the "cool" side, you may make a ...

Discover More

Speaking the Contents of Cells

Excel 2003 includes speech synthesis abilities that can "speak" your data to you as you enter it. This tip describes how to ...

Discover More

Using Revision Tracking

Want to keep track of the changes other people make to your workbook or even your own changes? Excel makes gathering this ...

Discover More
Subscribe

FREE SERVICE: Get tips like this every week in ExcelTips, a free productivity newsletter. Enter your address and click "Subscribe."

View most recent newsletter.

Comments for this tip:

If you would like to add an image to your comment (not an avatar, but an image to help in making the point of your comment), include the characters [{fig}] in your comment text. You’ll be prompted to upload your image when you submit the comment. Images larger than 600px wide or 1000px tall will be reduced. Up to three images may be included in a comment. All images are subject to review. Commenting privileges may be curtailed if inappropriate images are posted.

What is 3 - 0?

2014-02-03 04:43:11

Stephen

Hi, I like to work the other way round, i.e track changes without sharing the work book. Is that possible?

thanks and rgds


This Site

Got a version of Excel that uses the menu interface (Excel 97, Excel 2000, Excel 2002, or Excel 2003)? This site is for you! If you use a later version of Excel, visit our ExcelTips site focusing on the ribbon interface.

Newest Tips
Subscribe

FREE SERVICE: Get tips like this every week in ExcelTips, a free productivity newsletter. Enter your address and click "Subscribe."

(Your e-mail address is not shared with anyone, ever.)

View the most recent newsletter.

Links and Sharing